However if you customise a part of the system, when you upgrade UNIT-e to the latest version your changes are usually overwritten and set back to the factory default even when there are no apparent changes with this part of the system in the upgrade.
So you can either:
- Re-do all your changes after an upgrade
- Lock parts of the system so they retain your changes but are skipped when upgrading meaning they do not pick up any updates
How do people get around this issue?
I am familiar with other systems where you inherit the base page and any customisations are maintained separately so when the page is updated due to upgrades, any new updates are applied but existing customisations are also maintained. My wish would be for UNIT-e to work this way otherwise I feel I would need a team of people to re-configure the system post upgrade and this is holding us back on putting more work into our customisation efforts.